Professional ice sculptors

Samuel Girault and his team

About us

Professional ice carver for over 20 years, Samuel Girault, accompanied by his team, can perform any type of ice sculpture. Finished sculptures or live demonstration, ice carving that will amaze your guests. Throughout his career, our sculptor has participated in sculpture competitions recognized worldwide.

Ice story

After much research, we have you gather information on the origins of ice carving, evolution, going from the smallest to the most gigantic ice sculptures. The early origins of ice sculptures seem to come from Europe, especially Italian fishermen before the XVI century. Italian and Spanish fishermen were the first to use ice to preserve their tide during their fishing trips. It seems that during the long days some Italian fishermen, began to carve the ice to care. In France, in the early seventeenth century, ice was used only to cool drinks… It would be finally in 1671 that Vatel, so “butler” Prince of Condé (Chantilly’s Castle) was making a banquet of fish served on “a sea of ice” making ice sculptures paying tribute to Helios, the Sun God.

Thereafter, ice sculpture are made appearance in Russia with Ice Palace achievements of which the best known, is probably the one that will frame a very bad joke: under the influence of the extravagant Empress Anne Ivanovna, an Ice Palace was built to celebrate the wedding night of a fallen prince and a maid… It will rise on the frozen Neva river (near St Petersburg) during the winter of 1739-1740. In the nineteenth century, the ice trade became an industry whose purpose was to harvest ice blocks natural, then sold to traders, industrialists and consumers. It seems that it is at this time that the ice sculpture was actually developed, improved and perfected either by the Chinese, the Japanese and the Canadians and Americans. Today, ice carving is popular worldwide as well for receptions, events and festivals.

Awards and distinctions

Obtaining of the « Canada Cup »
Canada’s most prestigious ice carving award
2017

Gold Medal – International Championship
Ottawa – Canada
2017, 2013, 2009

Silver Medal – International Championship
Poznan – Pologne
2015

Silver Medal – World Championship
Fairbanks – Alaska
2010, 2011

Gold Medal – International Championship
Ottawa – Canada
2009, 2013

Gold Medal – International Championship
Poznan – Pologne
2007, 2008, 2012

Silver Medal – International Championship
Ottawa – Canada
2004, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012

Guinness Record (Dubaï)
Participation in the largest
sculpture in the world of 12.28m
2006

Sculptors’ Award
Olympic Winter Games of Vancouver - Canada
2010

Gold Medal – Championship France
Arras
1999

Gold Medal - Cup France
Le Grand Bornand
1999

Press review

Workshop

3 rue de la Cité Firmin Bourgeois
93350 Le Bourget

Tél : +33 (0)7 82 07 88 92


Copyright

© 2022 - Ice And Art - All rights reserved.

Legal information

Sculpteurs sur glace professionnels

Samuel Girault et son équipe

À propos de nous

Depuis presque 20 ans, Samuel Girault, sculpteur professionnel originaire de la ville de Chinon (37), accompagné de son équipe, peut vous réaliser tous types de sculptures. Sculptures finies mais aussi, démonstration en live ; la sculpture sur glace émerveillera sûrement vos invités. Par ailleurs, tout au long de son parcours, notre sculpteur a participé aux compétitions de sculpture sur glace les plus reconnues à travers le monde.

Histoire de glace

Après de nombreuses recherches, nous avons pu vous réunir des informations sur les origines de la sculpture sur glace, son évolution, en passant des plus petites aux plus gigantesques sculptures de glace. Les premières origines de la sculpture sur glace sembleraient venir de l’Europe, et plus particulièrement des pêcheurs italiens avant le XVI siècle. Les pêcheurs italiens et espagnols auraient été les premiers à utiliser la glace pour conserver leur marée lors de leurs campagnes de pêche. Il semblerait que pendant les longues journées certains pêcheurs italiens, commencèrent à sculpter cette glace pour s’occuper. En France, au début du XVIIe siècle, la glace était utilisée seulement pour rafraîchir les boissons… Ce serait enfin en 1671 que Vatel, alors « Maître d’hôtel » du Prince de Condé (au château de Chantilly) fit réaliser un banquet de poissons servi sur « une mer de glace » réalisant des sculptures de glace rendant hommage à Hélios, le Dieu-Soleil.

Par la suite, la sculpture de glace fît sont apparition en Russie avec des réalisations de Palais de glace dont l’un des plus connus, sera sans doute celui qui servira de cadre à une plaisanterie de fort mauvais goût : sous l’influence de l’extravagante impératrice Anne Ivanovna, un Palais de Glace fut construit pour célébrer la nuit de noces d’un prince déchu et d’une servante… Il s’élèvera sur le fleuve Neva gelé (proche de St Petersburg) au cours de l’hiver de 1739-1740. Au XIXe siècle, le commerce de la glace devint une industrie dont l’objet était la récolte de blocs de glace d’origine naturelle, ensuite vendue aux commerçants, aux industriels et aux particuliers. Il semblerait que c’est à cette période que la sculpture sur glace fut réellement développée, améliorée et perfectionnée que ce soit par les Chinois, les Japonais ainsi que par les Canadiens et les Américains. Aujourd’hui, la sculpture sur glace est populaire à travers le monde aussi bien pour des réceptions, événements et festivals.

Prix et distinctions

Obtention de la « Canada Cup »
La plus prestigieuse récompense de
sculpture sur glace du Canada
2017

Médaille d’or – Championnat International
Ottawa – Canada
2017, 2013, 2009

Médaille d’argent – Championnat International
Poznan – Pologne
2015

Médaille d’argent – Championnat du Monde
Fairbanks – Alaska
2010, 2011

Médaille d’or – Championnat International
Ottawa – Canada
2009, 2013

Médaille d’or – Championnat International
Poznan – Pologne
2007, 2008, 2012

Médaille d’argent – Championnat International
Ottawa – Canada
2004, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012

Guinness Record (Dubaï)
Participation à la plus grande
sculpture du monde de 12.28m
2006

Prix des sculpteurs
Jeux Olympiques de Vancouver - Canada
2010

Médaille d’or – Championnat de France
Arras
1999

Médaille d’or - Coupe de France
Le Grand Bornand
1999

Revue de presse

Atelier

3 rue de la Cité Firmin Bourgeois
93350 Le Bourget

Tél : +33 (0)7 82 07 88 92


Copyright

© 2022 - Ice And Art - Tous droits réservés.

Mentions légales